COVID-19’s impact on chemical supply chains: How to emerge stronger

11AM GST| 9AM CEST|12:30PM IST|3PM SGT

COVID-19 has created an unprecedented impact on supply chains across the world.  The Chemicals supply chain is no different and has been deeply impacted, both by the supply shock (challenge in availing materials and services at the right time, and fair cost), and the demand shock (reduced need for end-products).   The first reaction in any crisis is to secure supplies.  However, companies that emerge stronger, move beyond supply security and deploy multiple levers to drive value.  These levers range from aggressive cost reduction, deeper supplier collaboration, structural de-risking of the supply chain, digitizing operations, to vertical integration.  In many ways, this is an ideal opportunity for procurement and supply chain leaders to greatly enhance their value-addition to their firms.  Watch our webinar for more insights on how to deal effectively with the COVID-19 situation and emerge stronger from it.

Arun Bruce

Managing Director and Partner

Boston Consulting Group BCG

Marcin Jedrzejewski

Managing Director and Partner

Boston Consulting Group BCG

Benjamin Wahl

Principal

Boston Consulting Group BCG

Mayank Saxena

Project Leader

Boston Consulting Group BCG

Trade-related developments and measures affecting chemicals in the context of the COVID-19 crisis

13 May 2020

11AM GST| 9AM CEST|12:30PM IST|3PM SGT

To address the consequences of the COVID-19 pandemic, governments have adopted a number of exceptional trade and trade-related measures.  While most of these measures concern medical supplies and food, other measures have a broader scope and impact trade in chemicals.  The webinar will start with a brief introduction of trade forecasts according to WTO economists.  It will then present the most common forms of trade-related measures adopted by governments in recent weeks; recall the obligations of governments under WTO rules; and, describe some of the means available to the industry to oppose trade-restrictive measures.   This interactive webinar will also highlight the important role GPCA can play as a trade association in countering these measures.

Facilitator

Charles Julien

Counsel

White & Case LLP